vcp550 220-802 70-466 70-417 70-243 1z0-060 70-487 m70-301 1z0-599 400-051
Friends link: 350-050 400-051 350-021 ccnp-voice mcdba app-dsk-100 e20-814 m70-301

White Chosen Venango County D.A.; Dunham, Poff Win Oil City Council Seats

November 6, 2013

Republican Shawn White was overwhelmingly elected Venango County’s district attorney on Tuesday.  White garnered 79.6 percent of the vote to win in a landslide over Democrat Jim Carbone, a former assistant district attorney.

Other county races saw Susan Hannon take 76.2 percent of the vote in the register-recorder race to defeat Alexandre Motzer, while incumbent Sheriff Eric Foy and coroner candidate Christina Rugh ran unopposed.  Andrew Fish was retained for a magisterial district judge’s seat after winning the nominations of both parties in the May primaries.

Republican Isaiah Dunham and Democrat Michael Poff won two seats on Oil City Council, while Republican incumbents Donna Fletcher, Sam Lyons and Garnet Wood earned re-election to at-large posts on Franklin City Council and Jennifer Horne ran unopposed for a seat representing Franklin’s Third District.  Franklin’s mayor, Doug Baker, ran with no opposition for re-election.

Charles Minnick won another close race with Jeff MacKenzie for another term as the mayor of Sugarcreek Borough.  Minninck had beaten MacKenzie by 12 votes in the Republican primary, but McKenzie had gathered enough write-in votes on the Democratic side to face Minnick from the other side of the ballot.  This time Minnick’s margin of victory appears to be 35 votes.  John McClelland, Larry Joe Baughman and Robert Resinger won unopposed bids for Sugarcreek Borough Council.  Republican Kathryn Rial was elected over Independent Kevin Close as Sugarcreek Borough tax collector.

Incumbents Fred Weaver, Karen Woods, Joseph McFadden and Mark Kerr were re-elected to the Oil City Area School Board.  Incumbents David Graham, Brian Spaid and Randy Seitz and newcomer Beth Graham Stumpf earned seats on the Franklin Area School Board.  Melanie Anderson, Todd Carson, Jeff MacKenzie and Vance Mays were voted onto the Valley Grove School Board.  Hal Carbaugh, Camae Bunyak and Lance Mitchell were all re-elected to the Cranberry Area School Board, and former member Lynn Morrow may have been voted back on to the panel, but the 734 write-in votes cast in the race add up to 133 votes more than Morrow earned, and the official vote count may determine the make-up of that board.

In a similar situation, Republican Frank Shorts appeared to be unopposed in his bid for a Jackson Township supervisor’s position, but he garnered only 54 votes, and 85 write-in tallies were cast.  Republicans Ken Bryan and Shannon Osborn and Democrat Carol Snyder appear to have won seats on Utica Borough Council.

Republican Emery Fiely won a race for a Cherrytree Township supervisor’s post over Democrat Kevin McGowan.  The Rockland Township auditor’s race was won by Republican Scott Kellerman over Democrat Donna Warcholik.  Republican Ann Warner posted a 24-vote win over Democrat Charlene Armstrong for Cherrytree Township tax collector.

Three very close races occurred in President Township.  There, the unofficial totals show Democrat Homer Hill a 7-vote winner over Republican Frank Machokas, and Republican James Meagher a 4-vote winner over Democrat Jack Staley for township supervisor’s positions, and Republican Brandy Sue Bromley an 8-point victor over Democrat Melinda Bailey for tax collector.

Finally, nearly 63 percent of the Venango County voters who went to the polls cast ballots in the one contested statewide race, for Superior Court, for Republican Vic Stabile over Democrat Jack McVay.  Statewide, Stabile won by about a 51-49 margin.

County elections officials say 7,634 of Venango County’s 31, 611 registered voters went to the polls — a 24.15 percent voter turnout.

Venango Weather