vcp550 220-802 70-466 70-417 70-243 1z0-060 70-487 m70-301 1z0-599 400-051
Friends link: 350-050 400-051 350-021 ccnp-voice mcdba app-dsk-100 e20-814 m70-301

Red Sox Win Eighth World Series Title

October 31, 2013

For the third time in ten years and the eighth time overall, the Boston Red Sox are Major League Baseball’s World Series champions.

Shane Victorino slammed a three-run double and an RBI single, Stephen Drew homered and Mike Napoli singled home a run as the Sox clinched the title on their home field for the first time since 1918, beating the St. Louis Cardinals 6-1 at Fenway Park in Boston and winning the 2013 Series 4-games-to-2.  John Lackey, who also earned the victory as a rookie for the Anaheim Angels in the deciding game of the 2002 World Series, recorded the win, becoming the first pitcher to ever win Fall Classic clinchers for two teams.  Lackey allowed one run on nine hits over six-and-two-thirds innings, striking out five batters and walking one.

Boston designated hitter/first baseman David Ortiz won Series MVP honors after going 11-for-16 (.688) with two homers, six RBI’s and eight walks, including four in Wednesday’s contest.

St. Louis outhit Boston 9-8 with Matt Carpenter going 3-for-5 and Allen Craig 2-for-4.  Carlos Beltran singled home their only run in the seventh inning.

Cardinals rookie sensation Michael Wacha, who had become the first pitcher to win his first four postseason decisions in his debut year, lasted only three-and-two-thirds innings, and sustained the loss.  Wacha was charged with six runs and five hits.  He struck out five hitters, walked four and hit another.  Wacha finished the postseason at 4-1, matching his regular season win-loss mark.

Venango Weather