vcp550 220-802 70-466 70-417 70-243 1z0-060 70-487 m70-301 1z0-599 400-051
Friends link: 350-050 400-051 350-021 ccnp-voice mcdba app-dsk-100 e20-814 m70-301

Kings Win Stanley Cup Title With 3-2 Double Overtime Home Victory

June 14, 2014

For the second time in the last three years, the Los Angeles Kings are the NHL’s Stanley Cup champions.

The Kings ousted the New York Rangers 3-2 in Los Angeles early Saturday morning with the game and cup-winning goal being scored with 5:17 remaining in the second overtime period.  The tally was scored by Alec Martinez, who also earned the game-winner in overtime in the seventh and deciding contest of the league’s Western Conference finals.  The Kings won the championship series 4-games-to-1.

The Conn Smythe Trophy, given to the Most Valuable Player in the Stanley Cup finals, was awarded to the series’ leading scorer, L.A.’s Justin Williams.  Williams scored in the first period, his ninth goal of this year’s playoffs.  After second-period scores by the Rangers’ Chris Kreider (power play) and Brian Boyle (short-handed), the Kings’ Marian Gaborik tied the game on a power play score with12:04 remaining in regulation.

Rangers goaltender Henrik Lundqvist faced 51 shots, making 48 saves.  Winning goalie Jonathan Quick stopped 28 of 30 shots.


Venango Weather