Indiana’s Ryan Newman Wins Brickyard 400 In Home State

July 29, 2013

Indiana native Ryan Newman, who set a NASCAR track record in winning the pole for position Sunday’s Brickyard 400, held off Jimmie Johnson to take the event at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Newman had not won in his previous 49 Sprint Cup races, and grabbed the victory just two weeks after he had been informed that he would not be retained by Stewart-Haas racing in 2014.

Johnson, who has won four times at Indianapolis, strengthened his points standings lead to 75 points with his second-place finish.

Kyle Busch won Saturday’s Nationwide series race at Indianapolis – the Indiana 250.  The Sprint Cup Series returns to Pennsylvania next Sunday for the 400 at Pocono Raceway in Long Pond.


Sunday’s Top Ten:

1)  Ryan Newman

2)  Jimmie Johnson

3)  Kasey Kahne

4)  Tony Stewart

5)  Matt Kenseth

6)  Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

7)  Jeff Gordon

8)  Joey Logano

9)  Juan Pablo Montoya

10) Kyle Busch


The Points Standings Leaders:

1)  Jimmie Johnson  740

2)  Clint Bowyer  665

3)  Carl Edwards  655

4)  Kevin Harvick  648

5)  Dale Earnhardt, Jr.  616

6)  Matt Kenseth  615

7)  Kyle Busch  610

8)  Greg Biffle  565

9)  Kasey Kahne  564

10) Jeff Gordon  559

Venango Weather